Election highlights: NY Senate Flip & Kuhl defeated

Posted November, 6 2008 by arianne

For the first time in 40 years the Senate has a Democratic majority.  Joseph Addabbo (Queens) and Brian Foley (Long Island) won key victories over Republican incumbents.

Other Senate Democrat victories were: Craig Johnson, George Onorato, Toby Ann Stavisky, Martin Malave-Dilan, Velmanette Montgomery, John Sampson, Eric Adams, Kevin Parker, Diane Savino, Daniel Squadron, Liz Krueger, Carl Kruger, Jose Serrano, Thomas Duane, Eric Schneiderman, Ruben Diaz, Pedro Espada, Jeffrey Klein, Andrew Stewart-Cousins, Antoine Thompson, Suzi Oppenheimer, Darrel J. Aubertine, David Valesky, and William Stachowski.

Election highlights can be found here:

african-american-girlNew York also sends a new Representative to Washington. Eric Massa (D) replaces Republican John Kuhl in the 29th district. Representative Kuhl was one of only two New York Representatives in Congress that Voted agains the 2007 bill to support the federal State Children’s Insurance Program, which would have provided precious federal funding for the State’s proposal to expand our Child Health Plus program. See: http://www.govtrack.us/congress/vote.xpd?vote=h2007-1009.

Leave a comment